Elliott Sailors and her gender-bending story

f36373c7-b5ad-4361-96d7-138dd00fd154_sailor-2

First can I just start by saying how much I LOVE stories like this? I love things out-of-the-norm and this is definitely one of those things!

Elliott Sailors was your typical female model until the day she decided to ‘revitalize’ her career and become a male model. Yes, I said it – MALE model. No, there was no sex change everyone. Her outer appearance became more masculine and she started to market herself differently.

I really liked what Huffington Post had to say in their article:

Sailors discovered that she could extend her career in this new gender role, rather than try to extend her tenure in the youth-obsessed female modeling world. “In the industry, females are expected to look younger longer than males are,” she said. “And I knew I was getting older.”

She also told Huffington Post that, “I’ve never identified as a male, but I’ve always described myself as a guy,” explaining that the career shift is not just a “phase.”

It’s inspiring to see women like her out there not afraid to be different. I also love that straight women will look at her as a guy and think, “he’s hot,” when HE is really a SHE! Haha. Ya never know who you’re looking at – never assume ;P

Her husband is also supportive of her new modeling gender identity. She says that people around them often assume they are a gay couple.

article-0-18E241C500000578-530_634x557

Here in the link to Huffington Post where her interview can be seen: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/10/23/elliott-sailors-model_n_4151081.html?utm_hp_ref=gay-voices&ir=Gay+Voices

One thought on “Elliott Sailors and her gender-bending story

  1. Pingback: Frau modelt als Mann: Sie ist ein Model und er sieht gut aus | TokNok Deutschland

Comments are closed.